拔牙101 | 新山牙科

什么时候需要拔牙?

Tooth extraction dentist jb

在普罗大众的认知,拔牙可能是最可怕的牙科治疗。在现代牙科中,牙医现在比起过去20年已大大减少拔牙的必要。在局部麻醉的情况下拔牙也普遍上可以做到无痛,打破一贯的传统印象。这都得益于技术革新和牙科材料的进步, 很多牙齿可以逃过被拔掉的命运

没有什么看起来,感觉或功能比得上真牙

但是,有时候拔牙是无可避免的。有几个常见原因需要拔牙:

  • 无法修复的蛀牙
  • 严重脓肿或肿胀
  • 牙齿过于松动
  • 多余的牙齿
  • 绑牙(严重拥挤)
  • 智齿
  • 癌症放射治疗前等

拔牙过程?

现代拔牙涉及疼痛的情况很少见。首先,我们的牙医将在局部麻醉剂注射之前在牙龈上使用局部麻木凝胶。无痛注射可以减轻压力和焦虑。牙龈和牙齿完全麻痹后,我们的牙医将使用专用工具使牙齿松动,并轻轻地扭动一下,而不会对相邻的骨骼和牙龈造成过多损害。

无创伤拔牙对于保护骨骼和牙龈至关重要,特别是如果计划将来进行修复(如植牙)时。使用蛮力来拔牙的年代早已结束。

拔牙后会发生什么

局部麻醉药效消失后,您可能会感到轻微疼痛和流血。尝试避免在拔牙的第一天咀嚼太多硬的食物。避免热食,吸烟和使用吸管喝水。如果牙槽中的血块过早流失,您可能会出现干槽症。如果没有任何治疗,可能会很疼痛续约2周。

阅读更多 拔牙或手术后应避免的事项。

牙龈软组织通常需要10天才能愈合。牙槽会逐渐变窄和变浅。食物可能会卡在牙槽中,直到牙槽完全封闭。您可以用温盐水冲洗以保持清洁。避免尝试使用异物挖掘卡着的食物,因为这可能会损坏脆弱的新生牙龈组织,并引起出血。

拔牙后最好尽快恢复牙齿缺失的空间。否者相邻的牙齿可能会倾斜。同样,相对的牙齿可能会突入该空间,导致日后难以修复。弥补缺牙的方案包括植牙,牙桥和假牙。


了解更多牙科小贴士 点击这里。

@ The Smile Dental Lounge 2020。保留所有权利

简体中文

Tooth Extraction 101

When tooth extraction is necessary?

Tooth extraction dentist jb

Extraction is probably the most dreadful dental procedure in public view. In modern conservative dentistry, dentists are now doing way less tooth extraction than they used to be 20 years ago. Thanks to the advancement in technology and dental material, many teeth can be saved from being extracted.

Nothing looks, feels or functions like your natural tooth

However, there are times when a tooth extraction is unavoidable. There are several common reasons why a tooth need to be removed :

  • Unrestorable tooth decay
  • Severe abscess or swelling
  • Excessive mobility
  • Extra tooth (supernumerary)
  • Before braces (severe crowding)
  • Wisdom tooth
  • Before radiation therapy and etc.

How it is done ?

It is very rare that modern tooth extraction involves pain. First, our dentist will apply a topical numbing gel on the gum before the local anesthetic injection. Painless injection can reduce stress and anxiety. Once the gum and tooth is fully numbed, our dentist will loosened the tooth with specialized instruments and gently wiggle it out without excessive damage to adjacent bone and gum.

Atraumatic extraction is crucial to preserve the bone and gum, especially if future restoration like dental implant is planned. Gone are the days where tooth are extracted by plain muscle power and scary forceps.

What will happen after tooth extraction

You may feel minimal bleeding and mild pain after the local anaesthetic effect wore off. Try to avoid eating or chewing at the extraction site for the first day. Avoid hot food, smoking and drinking using straw. If the blood clot in the socket is lost too early, you might develop dry socket (alveolar osteitis). It can be painful and usually last about 2 week if no treatment was done.

Read more about what to avoid after tooth extraction or surgery here.

The soft tissue generally takes 10 days to healed. The socket slowly becomes narrower and shallower. Food will probably get stuck in the socket until they close over completely. You can rinse with warm salt water to keep it clean. Refrain yourself from attempting to dig out the food using foreign object, as it might damage the new fragile gum and induce bleeding.

It is best to restore the missing space as soon as possible. If left untreated, the adjacent teeth may tilt into the space. Likewise, the opposing tooth may overerupt into the space, making it difficult to restore. The treatment option of replacing a missing tooth includes dental implants, bridge and denture.


Learn more dental tips here.

@ The Smile Dental Lounge 2020. All rights reserved

English (UK)