洗牙和抛光 | 新山牙科

什么是洗牙和抛光

scaling and polishing dentist jb

如果我每天刷牙,还需要洗牙和抛光吗? 牙线 的话呢

我们每天都要用牙齿吃很多食物和饮料。无论您清洁牙齿的程度如何,都会有一些难以清洁的区域。在这些区域中积聚的斑块可能会通过吸收唾液中的钙和磷酸盐而变硬。这形成了坚硬的白色/微黄色沉积物,称为微积分或牙垢。一旦形成,牙垢不能仅通过刷洗除去。牙垢周围会积聚更多的牙菌斑,并且牙菌斑会变厚。细菌及其在牙垢中的有毒分泌物会引起牙龈发炎,甚至导致骨质退缩。

因此,我们建议每6个月在牙科诊所进行一次专业清洁,即所谓的洗牙和抛光,以防止 牙龈疾病.

拔牙过程?

经过全面的口腔检查后,我们的牙医将首先使用超声波设备去除牙垢和牙菌斑。振动尖端(18-30kHz,18,000-30,000振动/秒)将松动硬质沉积物,而不会损坏牙齿结构。由一系列压缩(高压)和稀疏(低压)组成的超声场会产生小气泡。这些气泡形成的冲击波可以破坏细菌细胞壁并杀死它们。这称为空化效应。我们的牙医将使用柔和的技术和精确的处理方式,以确保患者在清洁过程中感到最小的不适。

ultrasonic scaling tip dentist jb

接下来,我们的牙医将使用旋转刷轻轻打磨牙齿,使表面光滑。含有斑块和污渍的粗糙质地的次要斑块将被清除,留下明亮而有光泽的牙齿表面,以防止斑块再定植。

洗牙和抛光后会发生什么?

常规洗牙和抛光后,您可以立即进食。如果在结垢后进行了氟化物治疗,我们的牙医可能会建议您延迟进食/饮水。

如果您很久没见牙医,或是发现很厚的牙石,洗牙后可能会发现牙石去除后,牙齿会出现一些缝隙。轻微的对冷热 灵敏 也可能会在牙脚暴露的情况下发生。不必担心, 这些大多是暂时的,牙龈在健康的情况下会长回去,填满缝隙,敏感也会在几天后消失。您可以使用抗敏牙膏如 Sensodyne Rapid Relief 或者 Colgate Sensitive Pro Relief 帮助缓解症状。但是,结石堆积过多,可能会对牙龈造成永久而且不可逆转的损害,从而导致牙齿松动和牙龈疾病。


阅读更多 专业牙科咨询

阅读更多 牙龈疾病 | 新山牙科

回去 牙科服务

简体中文

Scaling and Polishing

What is scaling and polishing

scaling and polishing dentist jb

Do I still need scaling and polishing if I brush and floss daily ?

We use our teeth to enjoy a lot of food and drink everyday. No matter how well you clean your teeth there will be some hard to reach areas that are difficult to keep clean. The plaque that accumulate in these area might hardened by absorbing calcium and phosphate in our saliva. This form a hard whitish/yellowish deposit called calculus or tartar. Once formed, tartar cannot be removed by brushing alone. More plaque can build up around the tartar and it gets thicker. The bacteria and their toxic secretion in the tartar will cause inflammation of the gum and even bone recession.

Therefore, we recommend professional cleaning which is known as scaling and polishing at dental clinic every 6 months to prevent gum disease.

How it is done ?

After a thorough oral examination, our dentist will first remove the tartar and plaque using an ultrasonic device. The vibrating tip (18-30kHz, 18,000-30,000 vibration/second) will loosen the hard deposit without damaging the tooth structure. An ultrasonic field comprising of series of compression (high pressure) and rarefaction (low pressure) generate small bubbles. The shockwave formed from these bubbles can disrupt bacterial cell wall and kill them. This is called cavitation effect. Our dentist will use gentle technique and precise handling to make sure patient feel minimal discomfort during the cleaning process.

ultrasonic scaling tip dentist jb

Next, our dentist will gently polish the teeth with a rotating brush to make the surface smooth. The minor patches of rough texture which contain plaque and stain will be removed, leaving bright and shiny tooth surface that protect against plaque recolonization.

What to expect after scaling and polishing ?

You can eat or drink straight away after routine scaling and polishing. Our dentist might advise you to delay eating/drinking if fluoride therapy was done after scaling.

If you haven’t get your teeth cleaned at dentist for some time and there is a thick layer of tartar formed, you might expect some “gaps” between the teeth and gum after the procedure. Mild sensitivity to hot/cold can occur if the root dentine is exposed after scaling (previously covered by tartar). Don’t worry, the gum will healed and fill in those gaps. Then, the sensitivity will usually disappear after few days. You can use desensitizing toothpaste such as Sensodyne Rapid Relief or Colgate Sensitive Pro Relief to help alleviate the symptoms. However, heavy calculus build-up happen too frequently, it might cause irreversible damage to the gum, leading to loose tooth and gum disease.


Read more about Professional Consultation

Read more about Gum Disease

Go back to Service Provided list

English (UK)